Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick 706 Queen Street, P.O. Box 6000 Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 1C5

Telephone: 506 453-2506



Assemblée législative du Nouveau-Brunswick 706, rue Queen, C.P. 6000 Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick) E3B 1C5

Téléphone : 506 453-2506

February 14, 2024

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, P.C., M.P., Minister of Finance and Deputy Prime Minister The Honourable Anita Anand, P.C., M.P. President of the Treasury Board The Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, P.C., M.P. Minister of Public Safety, Democratic Institutions and Intergovernmental Affairs House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Minister Freeland, Minister LeBlanc, and Minister Anand,

Subject: Canadian Audit and Accountability Foundation (CAAF) Funding Request

New Brunswick's Standing Committee on Public Accounts submits this letter to you expressing its support of the Canadian Audit and Accountability Foundation (CAAF)'s funding request.

CAAF provides substantial training for jurisdictions and developmental materials on a national scale for the Canadian Council of Public Accounts Committees. CAAF is also trusted internationally to share the country's best practices and to deliver education in government accountability and oversight to our democratic partners worldwide.

New Brunswick's Public Accounts Committee has made significant advances over the last decade to foster cross-party collaboration and increase the efficacy of our work. To this end, CAAF has been crucial in offering tailored resources and training to our members and staff.

It is important to note that during a Canadian Council of Public Accounts Committees meeting in 2022, a motion supporting CAAF's funding request was unanimously carried and that the House of Commons' Standing Committee on Public Accounts recently passed a motion to the same effect.

For these reasons, we wish to see CAAF's request supported as it is clear that our oversight community values the research and capacity development work they provide.

On behalf of New Brunswick's Standing Committee on Public Accounts,

Chuck Chiasson Chair, Standing Committee on Public Accounts

M.L.A. for Victoria - La Vallée

Ross Wetmore Vice-Chair, Standing Committee on Public Accounts M.L.A. for Gagetown - Petitcodiac